The Last Navigator – Another Exclusive Excerpt

Last Navigator Title Image

As the countdown continues for the release of my debut novel, The Last Navigator, I wanted to give you another exclusive sneak peek into the book. This excerpt is picking up where we left off last week so if you haven’t read the first excerpt, you can see it here: http://wp.me/p3sZ3L-k

Excerpt# 2

That night, as the stars came out over the deep blue waters, like millions of brilliant sparkling diamonds, I imagined that I could sing songs that the stars could hear. I wondered what they would say back to me if my songs could reach all the way up to them. Would they like my songs? Would my songs be beautiful enough to merit a response? What would the stars sound like if I could hear them? My heart and mind raced as I thought of the Navigators and their mystical star songs.

I have to admit, I was quite distracted for the next few days as my curiosity was getting the best of me.  I just could not stop thinking about the Navigators. I knew that they didn’t exist anymore but my imagination ran wild with possibilities. What if there were still Navigators out there, I wondered. If I met one, I’m not even sure I would have the courage to say anything. I bet they are really big whales, they’d have to be big so the stars could see them and know where they were in the water, I thought.

“Lani!” yelled Priscilla, “Wait for me!”

Her voice jolted me from my vivid day dream and brought me back to the here and now. Let me tell you a bit about Priscilla. She was bubbly and happy-go-lucky almost all of the time. She loved life, which made others enjoy just being around her. She exuded fun in everything she did. The two of us had been best friends since we were born. Our mothers gave birth to us at almost the exact same time on the same day thirteen years before during the cold season when they were visiting the islands. Priscilla, or ‘Prissy’ as everyone called her, and I were inseparable when we were all together in the islands. The warm seasons when we would go our separate ways to feed with our pods were terribly lonely without each other. We would both count down the days until the cold season when we would get to be together again.

“You’ve been really quiet today. Is there something wrong? I’m really sorry for leaving you yesterday. I just wanted to go see what those boys were doing, but it really wasn’t worth it,” said Priscilla, a bit nervous that she was the cause of my silence today.

“It’s okay, Prissy. I’m not mad at you or anything. I don’t care that you went off to see what the boys were doing. I just have a lot on my mind, that’s all,” I said, with a sigh.

Prissy and I shared everything with each other, and I mean everything. From the smallest things like what we had eaten for breakfast to our larger dreams, desires, and aspirations, we shared it all. It bothered her greatly that I hadn’t told her what was on my mind, so she was extremely persistent in trying to get it out of me.

“So, tell me what’s on your mind. If you don’t tell me, you know I will eventually get you to spill. Is it a boy? Oooooooh! Is it Connor? He is really cute. I’ve seen you looking at him lately! Tell me all about it, Lani,” she said, as she swam circles around me.

Prissy was extremely interested in boys lately, as was the case with many of the other young females. We were “coming of age” as the elders described it and it was only normal for us to express interest. I hesitated to tell her what was really on my mind. She will probably think I’m just being silly to be thinking about these things, I thought to myself.  But, alas, I ended up telling her.

“Yes, Connor is cute, but that isn’t what is on my mind,” I continued, cautiously. “You know how the elders were telling us about the Navigators a few nights ago?”

“Sure! That was a neat story, wasn’t it?” said Priscilla, in a rhetorical fashion.

“Yeah, it was neat. And I have been thinking about that ever since. I just can’t get it off my mind. I mean, what if there are still Navigators out there?” I said, with excitement.

Priscilla did not match my excitement. In fact, she laughed, loudly, and for a long time. When her giggles finally subsided, she turned to me with amusement on her face.

“Silly, Lani,” she said, “You don’t really believe that the Navigators still exist, do you? The elders just told us those stories so we know what happened in the past. They told us that they were a myth, you know, like something that wasn’t actually real. It’s just a story.”

I didn’t want to say any more. She didn’t understand. Why should she? She was more interested in chasing boys than anything else. Maybe that’s what I should have been interested in as well, but I wasn’t. And now, more than ever before, I wanted the Navigators to be real…

That is the end of Chapter 1 and I hope you enjoyed the first two excerpts. The Last Navigator is coming out THIS MONTH so get excited! As always, if you like what you read, please comment, tweet (@JGMcNease), Facebook (www.facebook.com/JGMcnease), and share in as many ways as possible.

Until next time…

J. G. McNease

3 comments on “The Last Navigator – Another Exclusive Excerpt

  1. Pingback: Updates on The Last Navigator and Other Random Writings | J.G. McNease

  2. Pingback: The Last Navigator: Excerpt 3 | J.G. McNease

  3. Pingback: A Memorial Day Treat: An Extended Fourth and Final Excerpt | J.G. McNease

Leave a Reply

