And Now We Wait…

Today, May 29th, 2013, I have officially finished The Last Navigator. My editor gave me the last few suggestions this morning and I was able make the changes during my lunch break. Thanks to Scrivener, converting the final product into an eBook was a breeze and I managed to upload the file to Amazon. I can’t even begin to describe the emotions I am having right now. It’s a mixture of joy, relief, nervousness, and fear. If I had to combine those emotions and feelings into one word it would look something like jorelinervear, or some derivative of that.

I’ve put so much of my heart and soul into writing, editing, and formatting this novel that I was almost reluctant to click “Save and Submit”. I said a prayer over it one last time before I clicked that button and then closed my eyes and pressed my finger down slowly. I heard the sound of the mouse clicking and opened one eye slightly to see the confirmation message pop up on the screen. According to Amazon, it takes approximately 12 hours for the book to become available on Amazon.com. I returned to the main “Bookshelf” screen on my account to find that the status of The Last Navigator had changed from “Draft” to “In Review”. I waited several minutes and then clicked the refresh button on my browser to see if the status had changed again, but it remained the same. I decided to close the browser and bite my nails for a few hours (figuratively, of course). I will check again later on this evening and hopefully I will be able to post the link to my published novel by tomorrow afternoon at the latest. **Fingers Crossed**

I would like to thank my husband for being so incredibly supportive during this writing project, and my family for being my “beta testers” and giving my book a try (each time I made revisions, I might add). I still can’t believe that I am an author, and I’m not sure that fact will sink in completely for some time. I never imagined I could be an author of anything other than maybe an academic article here or there. Not even in my wildest dreams did I think I would be writing a blog about my journeys as an author of fiction books and short stories.

For now, I am going to return to waiting and I hope to be posting again very soon!

Until next time…

J. G. McNease

One comment on “And Now We Wait…

  1. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

