Letting It Sink In…

Yesterday I officially published my debut novel, The Last Navigator, on Amazon Kindle. It was exhilarating to search for my book on Amazon and see it come up in the search results. I immediately took a picture of the computer screen the first time my book showed up in the results. I spent the remaining hours of the night updating all social media and sending out the link to the book. It seems surreal that it actually happened. I feel similarly to the way I felt after I ran my first (and only) half marathon. I decided one day that, even though I strongly disliked running, I would try to run a half marathon. I registered for the Mardi Gras Half Marathon in New Orleans, LA, and got started on my training. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you put your mind to it. I had about four months to train and I managed to successfully run 10 miles before actually completing the race. My journey to become a runner didn’t come without it’s obstacles and challenges. I developed ITBS (Illiotibial Band Syndrome) and I experienced a significant amount of pain. About two weeks before the race, I decided to go to an orthopedist to get it checked out. The doctor told me that he couldn’t tell me not to run the race but he advised against it. I didn’t listen to him and continued to train. Three days before the race I came down with a sinus infection. I was terribly sick and had to be on antibiotics and the whole gamut of medicines. Even through all of this adversity, I managed to get up the morning of the race and get out there to accomplish my goal: run my race. At about mile 10, my leg locked up and my feet were numb but I knew that I had 3.1 miles left. I pushed on to the bitter end and the pictures that were taken at the finish line are great reminders of how hard it was to cross that finish line. My tongue is hanging out like a dog and I look like I’m about to keel over in pain. After the race, I got my medal signifying that I had completed 13.1 miles and I felt like I was on top of the world. The following days were spend trying to mitigate the soreness and still manage to attend college classes and function normally. I remember calling my parents up and telling them that I had done it. I said to my dad, “I finished the half marathon, Daddy.” He was shocked because nobody thought I was actually planning on running that many miles.

Publishing this book feels much like crossing the finish line of a half marathon. I spent months and months writing, editing, struggling with formatting, and trying to make my perfect novel. Seeing my book show up with my cover design and my name in Amazon search results was like crossing the finish line of a race that I never imagined I would run. Last night, I called my mom and said, “It’s published!” I’m still letting it sink in but knowing that I have completed a project as large as a novel and I’ve seen it through from start to finish is a great feeling.

Now my book is in the hands of you, the readers, and I hope that my hard work and diligence shows in the writing and the formatting. The difference in running a half marathon and publishing a book (one of the many differences) is that I didn’t write the book for myself. I wrote it for the world to enjoy. Running the half marathon was simply personal. It didn’t affect anyone else but me.

If you would like to read my debut novel, The Last Navigator, you can find it on Amazon by clicking here or by clicking on the picture below.

The Last Navigator

The Last Navigator
Copyright 2013 by J. G. McNease
Available for Purchase on Amazon Kindle

If you read it and like it, feel free to share it with friends and family and/or write a review. As always, feel free to contact me, comment on my blog, or connect with me via Facebook or Twitter. I would love to hear from you!

Until next time…

J. G. McNease

3 comments on “Letting It Sink In…

Leave a Reply

